10th annual Road Salt Symposium set Feb. 3

Road Salt Symposium
Feb. 3, 2011
Minnesota Landscape Arboretum

The 10th Annual Symposium featured:
(click on presentation title to view)
Steve Corsi, United States Geological Survey
Martin Tirado, SIMA
Joey Almond, City of Ankeny, IA
Eric Williams, New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
Implementing Chloride TMDLs in Southern New Hampshire:
Salt Reduction in the Public and Private Sectors
Jenny Winkelman, Mississippi Watershed Management Organization
Video:  Winter Maintenance of Small Sites
10 Year Road Salt Symposium Anniversary:
Where We Were and Where We’re Going…
City Official/Water Resource Manager Special Session:
Brooke Asleson, MPCA
Jerry Faust, Mayor of St. Anthony
Steve Albrecht, City of Prior Lake
The following people were presented with Environmental Leadership Awards for their achievements and innovations in decreasing harmful impacts of road salt on our waters:

Mike Kalis, Ken Frosig, Chris Franke

Robert Martimo, Keith Nelson, Chad Skelton, Paul Kent, James Foldesi
Jim Christenson, Kris Holzknecht, Phil Faulhaber
Joey Almond, Dennis Guillaume, Alan Olson

To view presentations from the 2010 symposium, click on the title:

Twin Cities Metro Area Chloride Project

Brooke Asleson, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Nine Mile Creek TMDL
Kevin Bigalke, Nine Mile Creek Watershed District

Cassandra McKinney, Water Resources Manager

Terry McKay, Black Cat Blades, Alberta Canada

Dan Gullickson, Natural Resource Program Coordinator, MnDOT

Bruce Juelfs, EnviroTech, Greeley, CO

Craig Eldred, City of Prior Lake, MN

2010 Environmental Leadership Award Winners:
Freshwater Society President Gene Merriam presented awards to the following organizations that
made changes to their department to reduce impacts of chlorides on our waters
or increased public awareness of chloride pollution.

Here is a summary of presentations from the February 2009 symposium.  Please click on a presenter’s name to view a pdf of his or her presentation.

Eric Novotny from the University of Minnesota’s St. Anthony Falls Laboratory began the day with his team’s latest research on the impacts of road salt on Minneapolis/St. Paul metro area lakes. Their important findings indicate a large percentage of the salt used on metro area roads is retained in surface and ground water. Novotny presented information on the numerous negative impacts of chlorides from road salt to our environment. For more information about Novotny’s research, please click here to view a recent article in Facets of Freshwater.

Heinz Stefan, Eric Novotny, Dan Murphy, Gene Merriam, Connie Fortin

University of Minnesota researchers Heinz Stefan and Eric Novotny and Dan Murphy, a former graduate student, accept an Environmental Leadership Award from Freshwater Society President Gene Merriam. Consultant Connie Fortin is at the podium.


Minnesota Pollution Control Agency’s Watershed Section Manager, Glenn Skuta, presented his agency’s plan to help the Minnesota waters that have been identified as impaired due to harmful amounts of chlorides. He also talked about the MPCA’s educational programs on alternatives to road salt and best management practices for winter maintenance.

A possible alternative to road salt was presented by Dr. Thomas Ballestero from the University of New Hampshire’s Storm Water Center. His research and use with porous pavements has shown potential to decrease amounts of deicing materials in northern climates, therefore improving water quality.

Dr. Scott Koefod from Cargill Salt and Deicing Technology presented the latest research on liquid deicers as alternatives to road salt. Dr. Wilfrid Nixon shared information on the advances in winter maintenance that help to protect our environment. A team of environmental specialists – Wendy Frederickson, Kathy Schaefer, and Joe Huenke from the Minnesota Department of Transportation also spoke about Minnesota’s work to bring the latest innovations to winter maintenance programs to decrease impacts on the environment while maintaining safety.

Environmental Leadership Awards were also presented to several individuals and organizations whose acts of best management practices and environmental awareness have had a positive impact on our freshwater resources.