2010 art contest winners announced


Six students from five high schools across Minnesota won $500 scholarships on May 5 in the Freshwater Society’s 6th annual Water is Life art contest.


Winners, from left: Brandon Cole, Ally Ede, Hannah
Ehli, Shelby Heintz, Christine Hofschulte. Not present
for photo: Rachel Lash.

The winners were chosen from 32 finalists, who had emerged from a field of more than 250 artists from more than 80 schools. Each entry was accompanied by a statement about how the artist’s work represented the value of water or the threats that water faces in today’s world.

The winners’ works will be displayed over the next year in a number of venues,  including the Minnesota state Capitol.

The contest is a collaboration between the Freshwater Society and Minnesota’s Education Service Cooperatives. 

Regional competitions, hosted by the eight service cooperatives, took place in March and early April. 

The winners, their high schools and their art instructors are:


  • Brandon Cole, Stewartville High School, Ronda Baldner.
  • Ally Ede, Mound Westonka High School, Laura Hensley.
  • Hannah Ehli, Trek North Charter High School, Kristin Gustafson.
  • Shelby Heintz, Kasson-Mantorville High School, Marilyn Fredrickson.
  • Christine Hofschulte, Plainview-Elgin-Millville High School, Mary Chick.
  • Rachel Lash, Trek North Charter High School, Kristin Gustafson.

To read the six winners’ artist statements, view all the finalists’ art and to see a slide show of work from past contests, click here.

Posted in